Some more exciting news, folks. Following my post-budget week resolution, I’m currently in the process of exploring public relations as a potential area of interest. So, last week, I optimistically sent my CV to my local MP’s office, Kelly O’Dwyer, inquiring about internship opportunities for students. Being a realist, I was expecting to have to put more effort into the chase before I received a reply, and was gearing up for an incessant multi-platform tirade of unashamed self-promotion.

… Plot twist! Much to my (very pleasant) surprise, Ms O’Dwyer gave me a phone call on Monday afternoon to discuss internship opportunities with the Liberal Party. Having already committed to internships in her office for the current period of time, she promised to speak to the Liberal candidate in a neighbouring electorate – Chisholm – to see if she could organise something there for me, and expressed interest in potentially taking me on as an intern later in the year.

And so, this morning I found myself on the campaign trail with Chisholm’s John Nguyen, the Liberal candidate for that electorate. Nguyen is contesting the leadership of the electorate’s current representative, Anna Burke MP, who is also the Speaker for the House of Representatives.

I’ll be volunteering there twice a week, most likely until university resumes for second semester, and then I’ll see what my timetable permits.

I guess this really just goes to show that, for those that are willing to take them, the opportunities are out there!